Memory Use

Version:
2019.3
Last modified: October 09, 2019

The Dedicated Sort/Join Memory setting in Designer defines the minimum amount of memory the Engine will use to perform sort and join operations in a workflow. For best performance, do not alter the default value.

Designer uses as much memory as it needs to perform. Tools that perform sort and join operations require more memory to process data than other tools. Sort and join operations compare and prepare records before sending results to the next tool.

How does Alteryx use memory?

By default, Designer uses 50% of the RAM on the computer on which it is installed. When processing a workflow, Alteryx adjusts to the memory available on the computer.

Dedicated Sort/Join Memory represents the minimum memory allocated tools in a workflow that use sort and join operations. Alteryx may use additional memory for other processes, but it will at least use the minimum amount.

Dedicated Sort/Join Memory can be defined in three areas: System settingsUser settings and Workflow configuration. Settings configured in User Settings override settings in System Settings, and settings in Workflow Properties override settings in User Settings and System Settings. However, the setting can be locked in System Settings to prevent it from being increased in User Settings or Workflow Properties. When the setting is locked, users can only decrease the value in User Settings or Workflow Properties.

What else impacts memory usage?

The number of processes running simultaneously impacts the way a computer's memory is used. If Dedicated Sort/Join Memory is set to 2,000 MB and the Designer is set to run 4 workflows simultaneously, at least 8,000 MB or 8 GB are used across 4 workflows to process data in tools that include sort and join operations.  

Tools that include sort and join operations are not the only tools that consume memory. For example, tools used to calculate drive times use a lot of memory. The memory other tools use is in addition to the memory used by tools that include sort and join processes.

What is the recommended Dedicated Sort/Join Memory value?

By default, Designer uses 50% of the RAM on the computer on which it is installed. Confirm that the value is equal to 50% of the computer's RAM divided by the number of simultaneous processes you intend to run.

When is it okay to edit the Dedicated Sort/Join Memory value?

In most cases, it is best not to edit the default value. However, there are a couple of cases in which performance can be improved by changing this setting.

Only lower the default value for these reasons:

  • The computer on which Designer is installed will be used to run other memory-intensive applications.
  • The server on which Designer is installed will be used to run a many processes simultaneously. The server will be better able to handle the workload if the default Dedicated Sort/Join Memory value is lowered.
  • A workflow you want to run includes many memory-intensive non-sort processes such as calculating drive times. In this case, wait to edit the default Dedicated Sort/Join Memory value until you experience processing issues.

Only increase the default value if a workflow you want to run includes many sort-intensive processes and you want to dedicate the computer to running the workflow. In this case, wait to edit the default Dedicated Sort/Join Memory value until you experience processing issues.

Was This Helpful?

Need something else? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.