Manage Users

Version:
2019.3
Last modified: October 09, 2019

Promote requires all users to have certain permissions. Based on what permissions users have, they fall into one of three categories:

  1. Analyst
  2. Manager
  3. Administrator

Users with Analyst permissions can deploy and stage models: 

  • Deploy models to Development (i.e., Dev).
  • Promote models to Staging.

Users with Manager permissions have full control of the deployment process, as well as all permissions of the Analyst:

  • Promote models to Production.
  • Reject models, which sends them from Staging back to Development.

Users with Administrator permissions can manage the roles of all others users on the Promote system, as well as all permissions of the Manager and Analyst:

  • Create new users.
  • Delete users.
  • Reset passwords.
  • Change user roles.

Add User

To add a user to your Promote environment, you need Administrator privileges.

1. In the Promote UI, select Admin from the dropdown menu in the top, right corner.

2. Select the sub-tab Users.

3. Select the in the blue box, which prompts you to add information about the user you want to create:

  • Username
  • Password
  • Role (i.e., Analyst, Manager, Administrator)

4. After you provide that information, select Create to add the new user.

Change User Password

To change the password of a user, you need Administrator privileges.

1. In the Promote UI, select Admin from the dropdown menu in the top, right corner.

2. Select the sub-tab Users.

3. Next to the name and role of the user whose password you want to change, select the down-arrow icon to see a dropdown menu with a list of options. 

4. Select the Reset Password option.

5. Fill in the fields with your current password and the password you want.

6. After you provide that information, select Reset.

Define or Change User Role

To define or change the role of a user, you need Administrator privileges.

1. In the Promote UI, select Admin from the dropdown menu in the top, right corner.

2. Select on the sub-tab Users.

3. Next to the name and role of the user whose password you want to change, select the down-arrow icon to see a dropdown menu with a list of options. 

4. Select the Change Role option.

5. Use the dropdown menu to select the new role you want to assign to the user.

6. Select Save.

Delete User

To define or change the role of a user, you need Administrator privileges.

1. In the Promote UI, select Admin from the dropdown menu in the top, right corner.

2. Select on the sub-tab Users.

3. Next to the name and role of the user whose password you want to change, select the down-arrow icon to see a dropdown menu with a list of options. 

4. Select the Delete User option.

5. Select Yes to delete the user.

Was This Helpful?

Need something else? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.