Collections: Admin Interface

Version:
2019.3
Last modified: December 11, 2019

A Collection allows users to share assets (Workflows, Apps, Macros, and Insights) with other Gallery users who are not part of the same subscription (studio). This article covers the options available to Curators (aka Admins) on the Collections page in the Gallery Admin interface. To learn more about options for Collection users within the Gallery, see the Collections: User Interface article.

Access Gallery Admin Interface

Access the Gallery Admin interface directly via the following URL: [BaseAddress]/gallery/admin

You can also access the Gallery Admin interface via Gallery. To do so, select your username in the upper-right corner and select Admin.
Select your username in the upper-right corner and select Admin to access the Gallery Admin interface.

Add a User to a Collection

  1. Select Collections on the Admin toolbar.
    Select Collections in the left-hand menu of the Admin interface.
  2. Select the Collection you want to add a user to.
  3. Select Users >Add Users.
  4. In the search bar, type the username or email address and select the user when they appear in the list.
  5. Select User Permissions:
    • Admin - This is the same as selecting all the permissions for both Users and Assets.
    • Assets - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add, Remove, or Update assets. The Update permission allows users to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the Gallery.
    • Users - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add or Remove other users. 
      Select the permissions for the user.
  6. Select Save

Using Windows AD groups in the Gallery

If you configured the Gallery to use Windows authentication, you can manage user and group access to the Gallery from the Permissions page. Once you have added a Windows Active Directory group to the Gallery, you can then add that group to a Collection to give all users in the group access to the workflows in the collection.

Remove a User from a Collection

  1. Select Collections on the Admin toolbar.
    Select Collections in the left-hand menu of the Admin interface.
  2. Select the Collection.
  3. Select Users.
  4. Find the user you wish to remove.
  5. Select the trash icon in the Action column to remove a user from the Collection.
    Select the trash icon in the Action column to remove a user from the Collection.

Change the Collection Owner

  1. Select Collections on the Admin toolbar.
    Select Collections in the left-hand menu of the Admin interface.
  2. Select the Collection.
  3. Select the pencil icon to the right of the Owner.
  4. In the search bar, type the username or email address and select the user when they appear in the list.
Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.