Workflows: Admin Interface

Version:
2019.3
Last modified: August 28, 2020

On the Workflows page, add workflows, apps, and macros to the Gallery and manage the run mode and exemptions. Create and apply tags to workflows to improve search results and group similar workflows into districts. See Districts.

Workflows, apps, and macros can be published to the Gallery, shared with users, and downloaded and opened in Designer. Only workflows and apps can be run in the Gallery.

To manage workflows, click Workflows on the navigation bar.

Add a Workflow

  1. On the Workflows page, select Add Workflow.
  2. Find and select the workflow on your computer or a shared location. The workflow must be saved as an Alteryx Workflow Package (.yxzp) file to be uploaded. Apps and Macros can also be upload via these steps, however, they cannot be run within Gallery.

The Workflow, App or Macro will display in your list on the Workflow page. 

Add a Tag

On the Workflows page, type a tag in Tag and click Add New.

Select Admin Only if you want the tag to only be available to Admins.

Edit Workflow Options

  1. On the Workflows page, click a workflow name.
  2. Edit the workflow description, add a tag, or change the icon image.
  3. Click Save.

You can also modify:

  • Run Mode: Use Run Mode to block specific tools or access. The Server admin selects the Default Run Mode during server configuration. See Gallery. To change the Run Mode for the workflow, select a setting from the drop-down. 
    • Unrestricted: Gallery users can run the workflow regardless of tools or access. 
    • Semi-safe: Blocks Gallery users from running the workflow if it reads data from or writes data to a location that is not within the directory or sub-directory of the workflow staging directory (workspace).
    • Safe: Blocks Gallery users from running the workflow if it reads data from or writes data to a location that is not within the workflow staging directory (workspace). Gallery users are also blocked from running the workflow if it uses specific tools, events, and data connectors. See 

      Safe and Semi-safe Run Modes: Blocked Tools, Events, and Data Connectors.

      Semi-safe and Safe are only available if the Server admin has enabled the Run As setting in System Settings on the Worker > Run As screen or if a Run As user is specified. See Worker and Credentials for more information.

  • Assigned Worker: Indicates the specific worker to run the workflow. If no worker is assigned on the workflow, the workflow will run on the worker assigned to the studio.
  • Requires Private Data: Indicates if the workflow requires licensed data to run. Select Yes, if the workflow requires licensed data, or No, if the workflow does not require licensed data.
  • Private Data Exemption: An exemption can be given to a workflow with private data so that it can run. Select Yes, to allow an exemption, or No to deny an exemption.
  • Place in My Company's Gallery: Indicates if the workflow is shared in your company's Gallery. Select Yes, to share the workflow in your company's Gallery, or No, to remove the workflow from your company's Gallery. Removing the workflow from your company's Gallery does not remove the workflow from the user's studio.
  • This workflow is ready to be migrated: Select Yes to mark workflows and apps for migration. You can then use an endpoint to move them from one environment into the appropriate subscription (studio) of another environment all at once. This option is only available if the Enable workflows to be marked as ready for migration to separate environment option has been enabled in the Gallery Admin > Workflows page Settings area.

Enable Users to Run Workflows

By default, users can only run workflows when they are signed in to the Gallery. To change this setting, select Yes for Enable unregistered users to run Public Gallery workflows.

This option does not apply if the Gallery is configured for Windows authentication.

Enable Workflows to Be Migrated

You can manage workflow deployments during development and testing phases by migrating workflows from one Alteryx Server environment to another using a series of endpoints.

Once you mark workflows for migration, you can then use an endpoint to publish them from the source environment into the appropriate subscription (studio) of the target environment.

Workflows can be marked as ready for migration in two places.

  1. Enable workflows to be marked for migration.
    • As an admin, click Workflows and select Yes for Enable workflows to be marked as ready for migration to separate environment.
  2. Mark the workflow to be migrated.
    • As an admin: Click Workflows, select a workflow, and select Yes for This workflow is ready to be migrated.
    • As a user: Click Private Studio, select a workflow, click Workflow Settings, and select Yes for This workflow is ready to be migrated.
  3. Get a list of workflows ready to migrate.

    This endpoint creates an array of ApplicationIds that are marked as ready to migrate. It takes a comma-separated list of subscriptionIds as a query parameter and returns all workflows marked as ready to migrate under the specific studio(s). If no subscriptionsIds are provided then all workflows marked as ready to migrate are returned. This endpoint returns three properties: appId, the currently published revision ID, and the subscriptionID the workflow belongs to.

    Environment: Source
    Method: GET

    GET api/admin/v1/workflows/migratable/?subscriptionIds={comma separated subscriptionIds}/

  4. Download workflow from source environment.

    This endpoint downloads the workflow as a .yxzp file. This endpoint takes an appID as a parameter and downloads the entire workflow as a package.

    Environment: Source
    Method: GET

    GET api/admin/v1/{appID}/package/

  5. Publish workflow in target environment.

    This endpoint publishes the downloaded workflow to the target environment.

    Environment: Target
    Method: POST

    Arguments:

    • file (string - required): The filename of the new workflow.
    • name (string - required): The actual workflow name of the new workflow.
    • owner (string - required): The owner of the new workflow that is migrated. The email address must exist in the Target system.
    • validate (boolean - required): Whether or not the workflow should be validated upon migrating to the Target system.
    • isPublic (boolean - required): Whether or not the workflow is set to public and will be shown in “My Company’s Gallery” on the Target system.
    • sourceId (string - optional, but still send in an empty string ""): This is the Source environment appId of the workflow to be migrated. If a workflow with the same sourceId already exists then this will replace that workflow in the Target environment, otherwise a new workflow will be generated.
    • workerTag (string - optional, but still send in an empty string ""): You can add a worker tag to the workflow to have a specific worker to run the workflow.
    • canDownload (boolean - required): Whether or not the workflow can be downloaded by other users in the Target system.
      POST api/admin/v1/workflows/
  6. Reset migration option on workflow in source environment.

    This endpoint toggles the This workflow is ready to be migrated option on a specific workflow back to false in the source environment after the workflow has been successfully published in the target environment.

    Environment: Source
    Method: PUT

    PUT api/admin/v1/workflows/migratable/{appID}/

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.