Collections: User Interface

Version:
2019.4
Last modified: December 09, 2019

A Collection allows users to share assets (Workflows, Apps, Macros, and Insights) with other Gallery users who are not part of the same subscription (studio). This article covers the options available to users on the Collections page in the Gallery user interface. To learn more about Collections options for Curators (Gallery Admins) within the Gallery Admin interface, see the Collections: Admin Interface article.

Create a Collection

You must have permission to create a collection. To verify you have permission to create a collection, select your username in the upper-right corner and select My Profile. Scroll to the Permissions section and confirm Create Collections is set to Yes.

To verify you have permission to create a collection select your username in the upper-right corner and select My Profile. Scroll to the Permissions section and confirm Create Collections is set to Yes.

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select New Collection.
  4. Enter a name for your collection and select Add.

Add a User to a Collection

The Collection owner must give you permission to add a user. Go to the Users tab of the Collection to confirm you have permission to add users.

Go to the Users tab of the Collection to confirm you have permission to add users.

Note: Curators (Gallery Admins) always have access to add and remove users.

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection you want to add a user to.
  4. Select Users > Add Users.
  5. In the search bar, type the username or email address and select the user when they appear in the list.
  6. Select the permissions for the user.
    • Admin - This is the same as selecting all the permissions for both Users and Assets.
    • Assets - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add, Remove, or Update assets. The Update permission allows users to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the Gallery.
    • Users - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add or Remove other users. 
      Select the permissions for the user.
  7. Select Save

Edit User Permissions

Curators (Gallery Admins) can follow the steps below to adjust users' Collection permissions. All other users can remove the user and re-add them in order to adjust their permissions.

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection.
  4. Select Users.
  5. Select one or more users, select Edit Permissions.
  6. Select the permissions for the user.
    • Admin - This is the same as selecting all the permissions for both Users and Assets.
    • Assets - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add, Remove, or Update assets.
    • Users - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add or Remove other users. 
      Select the permissions for the user.
  7.  Select Save.

Remove a User from a Collection

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection.
  4. Select Users.
  5. Find the user you want to remove.
  6. Select the trash icon in the Actions column to remove a user from the Collection.
    Click the trash icon in the Action column to remove a user from the Collection.

Set an Expiration Date for a User's Access

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection.
  4. Select Users.
  5. Find the user and select the pencil icon in the Expiration Date column. 
  6. Type the expiration date in yyyy-mm-dd format and select OK

Add and Remove Assets

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection where you want to add assets.
  4. Select Add Workflows — Apps and Macros can also be added via the Add Workflows button.
  5. In the search bar, type the Workflow name and select the Workflow when it appears in the list.

To remove a Workflow from a collection, select the trash icon in the Actions column.

Add and Remove Insights

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the Collection.
  4. Select Add Insights.
  5. In the search bar, type the Insight name and select the Insight when it appears in the list.

To remove an Insight from a collection, select the trash icon in the Actions column.

Opt-Out of a Collection

  1. Sign in to the Gallery.
  2. Select Collections.
  3. Select the No icon under the Actions column to relinquish your access to a Collection.
  4. Select Relinquish.

Change the Collection Owner

Curators (Gallery Admins) can change the collection owner via the Gallery Admin interface. To learn how, see the Collections: Admin Interface article. 

Was This Helpful?

Need something else? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.