Run a Workflow As a Different User

Version:
2020.4
Last modified: January 22, 2021

Server supports the ability to run workflows using specific user accounts. These accounts are referred to as run-as user accounts. This allows workflows to read and write data to the program files the run-as user has access to.

A Curator (Gallery admin) has to configure the ability to run workflows as a different user. See the Workflow Credentials Setting and Add a Credential help pages for more info. Depending on how the Curator (Gallery admin) has configured the run-as permissions, Gallery users will have 1 of these experiences:

  • If your Curator (Gallery admin) selects the Use Default Credentials option for the Workflow Credentials Setting, your workflows will run using the run-as account specified as default by the Curator. 
  • If your Curator (Gallery admin) selects the Allow Users to Select option for the Workflow Credentials Setting, you will have an option to select a run-as credential when saving your workflows to the Gallery. To do so, select Always run this workflow with these credentials under Set workflow credentials and select credentials that a Curator (Gallery admin) has shared with you. See the Save a Workflow to Gallery help page for more info.
Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.