Groups on the Platform

Version:
2021.2
Last modified: May 17, 2021

Use groups on your platform to make sharing easier. Groups are either created locally or synced with a directory. 

Add Groups

Both Platform Admins and Site admins can create and manage local groups. To create a group on the platform, go to User Management Groups + Add. Enter the group name and description. 

Groups page in Platform Admin Site

Group Details

Edit the Name and Description, Add Members, see current Users in the group, and Sites the group has been added to on the group's details page. 

Group Details Page

Manage Membership

To add members to the groups you create, go to User Management Groups and select a group you own to edit. Select + Add Members.

Add members button on group details page

Another way to add or remove members from a group is from the Users page. Go to User Management > Users. Select the drop-down menu in the Platform Groups column to edit group membership for the groups you own.

Delete a Group

You can delete groups you own. To see the groups you own, go to User Management Groups. Check the Owner column. Groups owned by the platform are labeled Platform. 

Screenshot of Owner Column on Groups Page

Select the group name to go to the details page. To delete the group, select the vertical ellipsis icon > Delete.
Screenshot of vertical ellipsis icon on group details page

Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.