Manage a Collection's Users and Groups

Version:
2021.3
Last modified: August 11, 2021

Manage a collection's users and groups on Collections pages of both the Admin interface and Gallery user interface.

Add a User or Group to a Collection

The collection owner has to give you permission to add a user. Go to the Users tab of the collection to confirm you have permission to add users.

Screenshot of Users tab in Collections showing Add and Remove User permission in

Note: Curators (Gallery admins) who have been added to the collection always have access to add and remove users and groups from collections.

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users Add Users. Or, to add a group, select Groups > Add Group.
  4. In the search field, enter the username, group name, or email address, and select the user or group when it appears in the list.
  5. Select Expiration Date to assign a date for when the user's or group's access expires. Enter a date or use the date picker to select an expiration date.
  6. Select permissions:
    • Admin: Select Yes to set all the permissions to Yes. 
    • Add Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to add assets to the collection.
    • Remove Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to remove assets from the collection.
    • Update Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the collection.
    • Add Users: Select Yes to allow the user or group to add users to the collection.
    • Remove Users: Select Yes to allow the user or group to remove users from the collection.  

      You can't edit a Curator's collection permissions.

      Screenshot of add user screen
  7. Select Add

Edit User or Group Permissions

Curators (Gallery admins) can follow these steps to adjust user or group collection permissions. All other users can remove the user and re-add them to adjust their permissions.

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users. Or, to edit a group, select Groups.
  4. Select one or more users or groups, and select Edit.
  5. Select Expiration Date to assign a date for when the user's or group's access expires. Enter a date or use the date picker to select an expiration date.
  6. Select permissions:
    • Admin: Select Yes to set all the permissions to Yes. 
    • Add Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to add assets to the collection.
    • Remove Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to remove assets from the collection.
    • Update Assets: Select Yes to allow the user or group to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the collection.
    • Add Users: Select Yes to allow the user or group to add users to the collection.
    • Remove Users: Select Yes to allow the user or group to remove users from the collection.  

      You can't edit a Curator's collection permissions.

  7.  Select Save.

Remove a User or Group from a Collection

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users. Or, to remove a group, select Groups.
  4. Find the user or group you want to remove.
  5. Select the trash icon in the Actions column to remove a user or group from the Collection.

Set an Expiration Date for a User's or Group's Access

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users. Or, edit a group expiration date, select Groups.
  4. Select the users or groups and then select Edit
  5. In Expiration Date enter a date or use the date picker to select a date. 
Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.