Subscriptions (Studios)

Version:
2021.3
Last modified: August 11, 2021

In a coming release, to streamline your asset management, subscriptions (studios) are going away. Assets will be associated with users rather than a given subscription (studio). If you have assets in your private studio these will be associated with your user instead.

If you are using subscriptions (studios) to share assets, we recommend that you migrate shared assets to Collections to prepare for this improvement. Go to Migrate Subscriptions to Collections for more info. 

A subscription allows Designer users to publish and share workflows privately within your organization. Gallery admins can create subscriptions and manage the users and workflows assigned to them. Subscriptions are also known as studios.

A private studio (in other words, subscription) is automatically created for each Gallery user. When a user creates a workflow in Designer and publishes it to the Gallery, the workflow is added to the user's private studio (subscription). Workflows published to the private studio are private. Only other users assigned to the private studio (subscription) can see the workflows.

To manage subscriptions, go to the Subscriptions page of the Gallery Admin interface.

Create a New Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select Add New Subscription
  2. Select Yes or No for API Enabled. Access to the private Server Gallery API is disabled by default. The Gallery API supports the ability to authenticate, list apps, run apps, and retrieve app results using an API Key and Secret from Gallery Settings. Go to the Gallery API Overview for more info.
  3. Select Yes or No for Shared Schedules EnabledYes allows users to view and edit the schedules and job results for workflows published by all users in the subscription. 
  4. (Optional) To add Default Workflow Credentials select Set Account. Go to Credentials for more info.
    1. Select a saved credential in the Workflow Credentials dropdown.
    2. Select OK.
  5. Select Save.

The new subscription is added to the Subscriptions page. 

Add a User to a Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select a subscription.
  2. Select Add User. Enter the username and select the user when it appears. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.

Remove a User from a Subscription

Users can only have one subscription. So, you have to add a user to a new subscription to remove them from their existing subscription. There are 2 methods for moving a user from one subscription to another.

  • Copy the Subscription Id of the new subscription and paste it in the Subscription Id field in the user's profile.

OR

  • Go to the new subscription you want to add the user to. Select Add User. Enter the username and select the user when it appears. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.

Edit a Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select a subscription.
  2. Enter a new Private Studio Name
  3. Select a new worker in the Assigned Worker dropdown.
  4. Select Yes or No for API Enabled. Access to the private Server Gallery API is disabled by default. The Gallery API supports the ability to authenticate, list apps, run apps, and retrieve app results using an API Key and Secret from Gallery Settings. Go to the Gallery API Overview for more info.
  5. Select Yes or No for Shared Schedules EnabledYes allows users to view and edit the schedules and job results for workflows published by all users in the subscription. 
  6. To change Default Workflow Credentials select Change Account. Go to Credentials for more info.
    1. Select a saved credential in the Workflow Credentials dropdown.
    2. Select OK.
  7. To add a user to the subscription, select Add User. Enter the username and select the user when it appears. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.
  8. Select Save.

Delete a Subscription

Before you delete a subscription (studio), you have to remove all users from it. To do so, add the users to another subscription.

To delete a subscription, find the subscription and select the trash icon next to the subscription name. Note, deleting a subscription also deletes the workflows in that subscription.

No Name Subscription

If your Gallery is using Integrated Windows Authentication, a subscription named No Name was created and listed on the Subscriptions page in versions prior to 2020.1. This can be deleted in version 2020.1+ without causing Gallery access problems for new users.

Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.