Manage Alteryx Links

Version:
2022.1
Last modified: May 04, 2022

You can now link Designer and the Alteryx Platform. This lets you save your Designer workflows to the Platform as well as open workflows from the Platform in Designer.

Please note that not all Designer Desktop tools are currently compatible with Designer Cloud. While you can save workflows to Platform that contain tools that are not compatible with Designer Cloud, you will receive a warning message if you open these workflows in Designer Cloud. For a list of the current Designer Cloud tools, go to Designer Cloud Tool List.

Link Designer to Platform

To link Designer and Alteryx Platform, in Alteryx Designer...

  1. Go to Options > Manage Alteryx Links.
  2. Select the + Add button.
  3. Select Platform.
  4. Enter your Platform URL into the field provided and select the Link button.
  5. Next, you need to authenticate via your Platform Single Sign-On. Once you authenticate, the link to the Platform is active over multiple sessions, but will eventually expire. Once the authentication expires, you need to re-authenticate.

After you connect Designer and Platform, you will be able to save your Designer workflows to the Platform as well as open workflows from the Platform in Designer.

Save Workflows from Designer to Platform

To save your Designer workflow to the Alteryx Platform, in Designer...

  1. Go to File > Save As > Alteryx Platform.
  2. Select your Platform link.
  3. Enter a Name for the workflow and choose a Location where you want to save the workflow.
  4. Select the Save button to finish.

Open Workflows from Platform in Designer

To open a workflow from the Alteryx Platform, in Designer...

  1. Go to File > Open Workflow > Alteryx Platform.
  2. Select your Platform link.
  3. Navigate to the location where your workflow is saved and select it.
  4. Select the Open button (or double-click the workflow name) to open the workflow in Designer.

Delete Platform Link

To delete an Alteryx Platform link, in Designer...

  1. Go to Options > Manage Alteryx Links. You will see all current Platform links.
  2. Locate the link that you want to delete and select the associated trash bin icon.
  3. Select the Delete button to confirm or use the Back button to return to the Manage Alteryx Links window.

Please note that when you delete a Platform link, you are just removing the connection between Designer and Platform. You can always re-add the link if you need it in the future.

Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.