Subscriptions (Studios)

Version:
2022.2 FIPS
Last modified: August 31, 2022

In a coming release, to streamline your asset management, subscriptions (studios) are going away. Assets will be associated with users rather than a given subscription (studio). If you have assets in your private studio these will be associated with your user instead.

If you are using subscriptions (studios) to share assets, we recommend that you migrate shared assets to Collections to prepare for this improvement. Go to Migrate Subscriptions to Collections for more info. 

A subscription allows Designer users to publish and share workflows privately within your organization. Server admins can create subscriptions and manage the users and workflows assigned to them. Subscriptions are also known as studios.

A private studio (in other words, subscription) is automatically created for each Server user. When a user creates a workflow in Designer and publishes it to the Server, the workflow is added to the user's private studio (subscription). Workflows published to the private studio are private. Only other users assigned to the private studio (subscription) can see the workflows.

To manage subscriptions, go to the Subscriptions page of the Server Admin interface.

Create a New Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select + New
  2. Enter a Name for the subscription.
  3. To allow users to view and edit the schedules and job results for workflows published by all users in the subscription, check the Shared Schedules Enabled box. 
  4. (Optional) To add Default Workflow Credentials select Set Account. Go to Credentials for more info.
    1. Select a saved credential in the Workflow Credentials dropdown.
    2. Select OK.
  5. Select Create.

The new subscription is added to the Subscriptions page. 

Add a User to a Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select a subscription. Then select the Users tab.
  2. To add a user, enter the username in the Search users field and select the user when it appears. Then select + Add. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.

Remove a User from a Subscription

Users can only have one subscription. So, you have to add a user to a new subscription to remove them from their existing subscription. There are 2 methods for moving a user from one subscription to another.

  • Copy the Subscription Id of the new subscription and paste it in the Private Studio Subscription Key field in the user's profile.

OR

  • Go to the new subscription you want to add the user to. Select Users. To add a user, enter the username in the Search users field and select the user when it appears. Then select + Add. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.

Edit a Subscription

  1. On the Subscriptions page, select a subscription. Then select the Details tab. 
  2. Enter a new Private Studio Name
  3. To allow users to view and edit the schedules and job results for workflows published by all users in the subscription, check the Shared Schedules Enabled box. If unchecked, users won’t be able to view and edit the schedules and job results for workflows published by all users in the subscription. 
  4. To change Default Workflow Credentials, select the credentials you want to change in the Default Workflow Credentials dropdown. Go to Credentials for more info. To confirm your changes, select Save
  5. To add a user to the subscription, select the Users tab. enter the username in the Search users field and select the user when it appears. Then select + Add. Note, this changes the user's private studio (subscription) and removes their access to the workflows in their existing subscription.
  6. Select Save.

Delete a Subscription

Before you delete a subscription (studio), you have to remove all users from it. To do so, add the users to another subscription.

To delete a subscription, find the subscription and select the three-dot menu next to the subscription name, then select Delete. Note, deleting a subscription also deletes the workflows in that subscription.

No Name Subscription

If your Server is using Integrated Windows Authentication, a subscription named No Name was created and listed on the Subscriptions page in versions prior to 2020.1. This can be deleted in version 2020.1+ without causing Server access problems for new users.

Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.