Share Missions

Last modified: June 29, 2022

There are 2 ways you can share a Mission:

  1. From the Missions landing page, select the Mission you want to share and select Share.
    Share button
  2. Or, within a Mission, select Share at the top right-hand corner of the screen. Ensure that you are not in editing mode.
    Share icon
  3. The Share this Mission window displays. 
  4. You can either share a Mission with specific people by inviting them one at a time, or you can set your Mission to Broadcast to all permitted users.

If the Mission is set to Broadcast to all permitted users, it is visible to anyone in your organization on the Homepage if they have access to at least 1 of the datasets used for the Mission.

Sharing options

Once you share a Mission with a group of people, they receive a summary email. This introduces them to the Mission that you've shared.

Permissions

As the owner of the mission, you can handle the permission rights at a user level. This means that certain people can have edit permissions, while others have read-only (Can view) permissions.

Permissions

Users that don’t have access to the underlying dataset of a page aren’t able to see any content on that page. They can request access to the underlying dataset from that page.

An alternative way to share a Mission is to comment (@mention) your colleague in the comment box. Read Collaboration through Missions to understand more about the comment function in Auto Insights.

Default Access Setting

When you create a new Mission, the default access setting is private. Until you decide to share your Mission, it’s only available to you (the creator).

Request Access

If you encounter any pages within a Mission that say, "You do not have access to the underlying dataset for this page," you can request access. Select Request access to send an email requesting access to the dataset owner.

Creators, Editors, and Viewers of a Mission can also request access on behalf of users when they share a Mission. This request triggers an email to the dataset owner requesting access for the specified users.

Request dataset access

Share with Someone Who Doesn’t Have an Account

Select 1 of the 2 sharing options described at the beginning of this article. Enter your teammate's email address. If the email address is from an admin-approved domain, the option to Share with new user displays. Select Share with new user, then select Share.

Share with new user link

Next, Auto Insights sends the user you invited an email about the Mission and a link to create an account. If your Org Admin is moderating invites, they will have to approve the invitation first. To check the status of invited users, go to your profile icon > Users.

Users page link

The Users page lists Active and Pending users. You can also invite a new user from this page without sharing a Mission. To do so, select Invite new user.

Users page

Frequently Asked Questions

What can I do if my teammate doesn't have access to the dataset?

As part of the invitation process, you can request dataset access to specific datasets on behalf of the people you invite. These requests go out to the dataset owners, and it is up to them to approve or deny the new users' access.

What level of Mission permission can I give a user?

  • Editors or Owners of a Mission can invite new users and give them view or edit access to a Mission.
  • Viewers of a Mission can invite new users and only give them view access.

Who can delete a new user?

  • Editors and Owners can remove a pending new user from the Mission while viewers can’t. This does not remove the user from Auto Insights, but only from that Mission.
  • Org Admins can delete users from Auto Insights in the Admin Portal.

To which datasets do new users have access?

Everyone invited to your organization automatically has access to all Sample and Public datasets. However, as part of the invitation process, you can request dataset access to specific datasets on behalf of the users you invite. These requests go out to the dataset owners, and it's up to them to approve or deny access to the datasets for the new users.

What if I accidentally invited the wrong person?

You can reach out to your Organisation Admin, and they can delete the user in the Admin Portal.

Was This Page Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support. Can't submit this form? Email us.