Customize the User Interface

Version:
Current
Last modified: September 25, 2020

The Alteryx Designer user interface is customizable. Windows can be moved, resized, reorganized, or closed. For more information about the specific functions of each window, visit the User Interface page.

To customize the layout of the user interface, click and hold the left mouse button to grab a window. When you drag the window arrows appear on the top, sides, and center of the user interface. When you slide the window over the arrows a "shadow" of the window displays, indicating the size and location where it will move.

Customize Window Layout

There are 2 icons on the right side of the title bar of each window: Window State and Auto Hide.

Window State: The dropdown arrow provides options for displaying a particular window:

  • Floating: The window floats on top of the interface. To redock the window, right-click the window name and select Dockable, or select the Dock button. The window returns to the last docked position.
  • Dockable: This is the default selection. It indicates the window can be docked to the interface.
  • Tabbed Document: Selecting this option places the window as a tabbed document in the workflow canvas area. Right-click the window name to view the menu options.
  • Auto-Hide: The window is hidden behind a tab in the same panel of its last docked location. You can view the window by hovering your cursor over the tab.
  • Hide:  The window is hidden from view. Use the shortcut keys found in the View menu to open and close your windows.

Auto Hide: The Auto Hide button auto-hides the window behind a tab. You can view the window by hovering your cursor over the tab. Select the Auto Hide button again to view the window.

Save Window Layout Settings

Designer saves your final configuration by Default. Go to Options > User Settings > Save Layout & Settings on Exit to deselect this option. You can then manually save your preferred layout via Options > User Settings > Save Layout & Settings Now.

To redock the windows to their default positions, go to Options > User Settings > Restore Defaults. The user interface defaults to the original display configuration from the initial install. Any customization settings, like canvas or connection settings or default databases, are also set to the default from the original install.

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.