Manage Schedules

Version:
Current
Last modified: June 04, 2020

View and manage workflows, apps, and packages scheduled to your computer or a controller, in the View Schedules window. From there, you can also schedule apps and workflow packages to run on your computer or a controller.

Gallery Schedules

To view workflows or apps scheduled in the Gallery, go to the Schedules page in Gallery. See Schedule Workflows.

View Schedules contains four tabs:

  • Workflows: Lists all workflows and packages that you've saved to a location.
  • Schedules: Lists each job scheduled to run in the selected location.
  • Queue: Lists the status of scheduled jobs that run currently or will run next, and shows an approximate percentage complete of each in-progress job.
  • Results: Lists information about completed scheduled jobs, and includes a link to the output.

View Workflows and Schedules

  • If you schedule workflows to run on your local machine, Controller defaults to My Computer.
  • If you schedule workflows to run on a controller, select Controller and select an existing controller connection—or connect to a controller.

Connect to a Controller

  1. Select Controller and select Connect to Controller.
  2. In Machine Name, enter the server name.
  3. In Controller Token, enter the controller token provided by the Alteryx Server Administrator at your company.
  4. Select OK.

Edit, Delete, or Create Schedule

Edit Schedule

To edit a schedule...

  1. Select Schedules.
  2. Select the schedule you want to edit.
  3. Select the Edit Schedule or pencil icon.
  4. In Schedule Workflow, modify the schedule details.
  5. Select OK.

You can also delete a schedule. When you delete a schedule, the workflow is not deleted from the Workflows tab in View Schedules.

Delete Schedule

To delete a schedule...

  1. Select Schedules.
  2. Select the schedule you want to delete.
  3. Select the Delete Schedule ("-") button.

Create Schedule

To schedule a workflow...

  1. Select Workflows.
  2. Select the Add App, Workflow or Package for Scheduling ("+") button.
  3. Find the saved workflow you want to schedule and select it.
  4. Complete the schedule details. See Schedule Workflows.

AMP Engine

If your workflow is using the e2/AMP engine but your controller is not, you will see this error message:

The selected controller is not enabled to run e2 workflows. Enable your controller for the e2 engine or change your workflow to run on the e1 engine.

To enable your controller for the e2/AMP engine, see System Settings: Controller. To change your workflow to run on the original engine, see Workflow Configuration.

To learn more about the e2/AMP engine, visit these resources:

Schedule App or Workflow Package

If you want to schedule a workflow to run from the Scheduler database (DB), and it includes dependencies such as data files or output locations, save the workflow as a package (.yxzp file) to help ensure it runs properly on the Scheduler DB. Then, schedule the app or workflow package via OptionsView Schedules.

To schedule an app or workflow package...

  1. Select Workflows.
  2. Select the Add App, Workflow or Package for Scheduling ("+") button.
  3. On your computer, find the saved workflow you want to schedule and select it.
  4. Complete the Schedule details. See Schedule Workflows.

AMP Engine

If your workflow is using the e2/AMP engine but your controller is not, you will see this error message:

The selected controller is not enabled to run e2 workflows. Enable your controller for the e2 engine or change your workflow to run on the e1 engine.

To enable your controller for the e2/AMP engine, visit System Settings: Controller. To change your workflow to run on the original engine, see Workflow Configuration.

To learn more about the e2/AMP engine, visit these resources:

Update Workflow in Scheduler DB

If you have scheduled a workflow saved to the Scheduler database (DB), there is only one way to update the workflow. To update a workflow saved to the Scheduler DB...

  1. Select Workflows.
  2. Select the workflow you want to update.
  3. Select the Update App, Workflow or Package icon.
  4. Find the workflow you want to use to update the saved workflow and select it.

If you update a workflow that is scheduled to run on your computer, a copy of the workflow saves to the Scheduler DB and updates the scheduled workflow to run from the Scheduler DB.

Delete Workflow

When you delete a workflow, this action deletes all schedules of the workflow and results of previously run schedules of the workflow. To delete a workflow...

  1. Select Workflows.
  2. Select the workflow, app, or package that you want to delete.
  3. Select the Delete Workflow button.

View Job Results

  • Select the "+" icon next to a workflow name to view more information about the job.
  • Select Output to view results as they would be displayed in the Results window.

The Result column displays a colored circle to indicate job status:

  • Green (Success): Job ran successfully.
  • Yellow (Warnings or conversion errors): Job ran with warnings.
  • Red (Errors): Job ran with errors.
  • Gray: Job not yet complete.
Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.