Add Gallery Users

Version:
Current
Last modified: November 02, 2020

Once you have set up the authentication method for your Gallery you can add Gallery users in the Gallery Admin interface.

The necessary steps for adding Gallery users depend on the Gallery authentication type. Visit Set Up Gallery Authentication

Steps for Adding Users for Built-in and SAML Galleries

Once Built-in or SAML authentication is set up, you can choose to add users yourself or allow users to register themselves. Select Add Users or Allow Users to Register for further instructions.  

Add Users

Creating the users yourself allows you to better control the new users' access and permissions upon their first login. When you manually create users you can assign each user a role or assign them to user groups with a specific role. See Understand Role Hierarchy for more details on how to fine-tune users' access and permissions. 

Set a Default User Role

New Gallery users assume the default user role unless you assign them a group. See Understand Role Hierarchy. The default user role is set to Viewer by default. See User Roles and Permissions to learn about the permissions each user role includes. You can change the default role using the Default Role drop-down menu on the Gallery Configuration page. See Gallery Configuration

Create a New User

  1. On the Users tab of the User Management page, select the plus icon to add a new user.  
    Screenshot of User page showing plus icon for adding a new user.
  2. Enter the user's first name in the First Name field.
  3. Enter the user's last name in the Last Name field.
  4. Enter a valid email address in the Email field. 
  5. Select a Role
  6. Select Yes for Can Schedule to allow the user to schedule workflows to run at a scheduled time. Note, you have to also enable workflow scheduling on the Jobs page for a user to be able to schedule jobs.
  7. Select Yes for Can Prioritize to allow the user to prioritize a job. When there are multiple jobs in the queue, the job with the highest priority runs first.
  8. Select Yes for Can Tag Jobs to allow the user to assign a specific worker to run a workflow.
  9. Select Yes for Can Create Collections to allow the user to create Collections. 
  10. Select Yes for API Access to allow the user to access the Gallery API. See the Gallery API Overview to learn more.  
  11. (Optional) In Subscription Id, enter a Studio Subscription Key. If left blank, the user is assigned their own Private Studio. If you want to have the user share a Studio with another user, paste the corresponding Subscription Key.
  12. If you disabled the Users Can Register option, enter a password for the user in the Password and the Re-enter Password fields.
  13. Select Save.

If you set up an SMTP server to send email notifications, the user receives an email with the link to the Gallery and instructions for activating their account. See Configure SMTP for Gallery Notifications and Notifications.  

Set Up Groups and Assign Group Roles

If you want to have users assume a role other than the default user role you can assign them to a group and assign that group a role. Or, you can assign a specific role for each user. 

Create a New Group

  1. On the Groups tab of the User Management page, select the plus icon to add a new group.  
  2. Enter a name for your group in Group Name
  3. Select a Group Role to assign to all users in the group.
    Screenshot of Add Group screen

Add Users to a Group

Custom Groups allow you to choose the users that are part of the user group. Follow these steps to add a user to a group:

  1. Select a group.
  2. Select Add User
  3. Search for the user by username or email. 
  4. Select the user.
  5. Select Save
Allow Users to Register

If you choose to register users, you can control users' initial access using the default user role. Once a user has registered, you can log in to create user groups or assign individual user roles.

 

First, ensure that you enabled the Users Can Register setting on the Gallery Configuration page. Next, customize the default user role to control users' access and permissions when users sign in.

Set a Default User Role

New Gallery users assume the default user role unless you add them to a group or assign a user role assign them a role other than Default. See Understand Role Hierarchy. The default user role is set to Viewer by default. See User Roles and Permissions to learn about the permissions each user role includes. You can change the default role using the Default Role dropdown on the Gallery Configuration page. See Gallery Configuration.

 

Now you are ready to invite users to register for a Gallery account. See Register for a Gallery Account for more info. Once a user has registered, you can log in to create user groups or assign individual user roles. See User and Group Management.

Steps for Adding Users in Integrated Windows Authentication Galleries

Once integrated Windows authentication is set up, all users on the domain are able to go to your Gallery URL and log in with their Active Directory credentials. Before inviting users to log in to Gallery, customize the default user role to control users' access and permissions when users sign in. 

Set a Default User Role

New Gallery users assume the default user role unless you add them to a group or assign a user role assign them a role other than Default. See Understand Role Hierarchy. The default user role is set to Viewer by default. See User Roles and Permissions to learn about the permissions each user role includes. You can change the default role using the Default Role dropdown on the Gallery Configuration page. See Gallery Configuration

Set Up Groups and Assign Group Roles

If you want to have users assume a role other than the default user role, you can add them to a group and assign that group a role. Or, after they have registered, you can change their user role. 

Create a New Group

  1. On the Groups tab of the User Management page, select the plus icon to add a new group.  
  2. Select a Group Type.
    1. Select Active Directory to add a group from your Active Directory as a user group.
    2. Select Create Custom Group to create a user group you can manually add users to. 
  3. If you are adding a Custom Group, enter a name for your group in Group Name
  4. If you are adding an Active Directory group, search for the Active Directory group in Search Groups.
  5. For both Custom Groups and Active Directory groups, select a Group Role to assign to all users in the group.
    Screenshot of Add Group screen

Add Users to a Group

If you added an Active Directory group the users in that group are assigned to that same group in Gallery and assume the role assigned to that group. Custom Groups allow you to choose the users that are part of the user group. Follow these steps to add a user to a group.

  1. Select a group.
  2. Select Add User
  3. Search for the user by username or email. This searches Active Directory for Active Directory users and groups.
  4. Select the user.
  5. Select Save

Once you have configured your default role and created any custom and Active Directory groups you need, you can invite Gallery users to sign in using the Gallery URL. When users access the Gallery URL they are prompted to log in using the Active Directory credentials. See Register for a Gallery Account for more info. 

Understand Role Hierarchy

A user's role, and their resulting Gallery access, can come from 3 places, the user role, the group role, or the default role. Gallery evaluates roles in this order: user role, group role, default role. Users' access resolves to the most specific role assignment. So, if a user's role assignment is any role other than Default, that is their role and corresponding access. If a user's role is Default, then the Gallery looks to see if they are in a group. If the user is in a group, they assume the group role. If they are not in a group they assume the default role.

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.