Collections: Admin Interface

Version:
Current
Last modified: June 02, 2020

A Collection allows users to share assets (Workflows, Apps, Macros, and Insights) with other Gallery users who are not part of the same subscription (studio). This article covers the options available to Curators (Gallery Admins) on the Collections page in the Gallery Admin interface. To learn more about options for Collection users within the Gallery, see the Collections: User Interface article.

Access Gallery Admin Interface

Access the Gallery Admin interface directly via the following URL: [BaseAddress]/gallery/admin

You can also access the Gallery Admin interface via Gallery. To do so, select your username and select Admin.
Select your username in the upper-right corner and select Admin to access the Gallery Admin interface.

To manage Collections, select Collections on the Admin toolbar.

Screenshot of Admin toolbar with Collections highlighted

 

Add a User to a Collection

  1. Select the Collection.
  2. Select Users Add Users.
  3. In the search bar, type the username or email address and select the user when they appear in the list.
  4. Select User Permissions:
    • Admin - This is the same as selecting all the permissions for both Users and Assets.
    • Assets - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add, Remove, or Update assets. The Update permission allows users to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the Gallery.
    • Users - Select whether you wish to allow the user to Add or Remove other users. 
      Select the permissions for the user.
  5. Select Save

Share Collections with Windows Active Directory Groups

If your Gallery is using Integrated Windows Authentication, you can manage user and group access to the Gallery on the Groups tab of the Users page. Once you have added a Windows Active Directory group to the Gallery, you can then add that group to a Collection to give all users in the group access to the workflows in the collection.

Remove a User from a Collection

  1. Select the Collection.
  2. Select Users.
  3. Find the user you want to remove.
  4. Select the trash icon in the Actions column to remove a user from the Collection.
    Select the trash icon in the Action column to remove a user from the Collection.

Allow Users to Create Collections

Curators (Gallery Admins) must give users permission to create Collections. To do so, follow the steps below.

This permission was new in version 2019.4. As such, if you are upgrade from Server version 2019.3 or earlier to version 2019.4 or later, this permission will be enabled by default for existing Curators and Artisans created before 2019.4 to prevent unexpected changes to users' ability to create collections. If you want to remove an existing user's ability to create collections, turn off the Create Collections permission.

Give an Existing User Create Collections Permission

  1. Select Users on the Admin toolbar.
  2. Select the user. 
  3. In the Actions panel, select Yes for Create Collections permission. 
    In the Actions panel toggle the Create Collections permission to Yes. 

The Create Collections Permissions can also be enabled when adding a user. See Create a New User

Change the Collection Owner

  1. Select the Collection.
  2. Select the pencil icon to the right of the Owner.
  3. In the search bar, type the username or email address and select the user when they appear in the list.

Share Schedules and Results in Collections

Schedule owners can share their schedules and job results with a Collection and all of its users to ensure their schedules continue to be managed when they are unavailable. To share a schedule follow these steps.

  1. Go to the Collections page from within either the Admin or Gallery User interface.
  2. Select a Collection.
  3. Go to the Schedules tab.
  4. Select the plus icon. 
  5. Search for the schedule you want to share and select it.
  6. Select Save.

The schedule displays in the schedule list. 

Screenshot of Schedules grid within collection showing a shared schedule

Migrate Subscriptions to Collections

In a coming release, to streamline your asset management, subscriptions (studios) are going away. With this change, Server will associate assets with users rather than a given subscription (studio). If you have assets in your Private Studio (subscription) Server will associate these assets with your user instead.

If you are using subscriptions (studios) to share assets, we recommend that you migrate shared assets to collections to prepare for this improvement. 

  1. Create a collection for each shared subscription.
  2. Add assets to the new collection. Learn how to add assets to a collection.
  3. Add all users from the shared subscription to the collection.
  4. If you are using shared schedules in a subscription, see Share Schedules and Results in Collections.

If you are using default studio workflow credentials look for upcoming improvements for sharing credentials.

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.