Manage a Collection's Users

Version:
Current
Last modified: October 09, 2020

These options to manage a collection's users are available on Collections pages of both the Admin or Gallery user interface.

Add a User to a Collection

The collection owner has to give you permission to add a user. Go to the Users tab of the collection to confirm you have permission to add users.

Go to the Users tab of the Collection to confirm you have permission to add users.

Note: Curators (Gallery admins) always have access to add and remove users.

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users Add Users.
  4. In the Users search bar, enter the username or email address, and select the user when they appear in the list.
  5. Select Expiration Date to assign a date for when the user's access expires. Enter a date or use the date picker to select an expiration date.
  6. Select the user's permissions:
    • Admin: Select Yes to set all the permissions to Yes. 
    • Add Assets: Select Yes to allow the user to add assets to the collection.
    • Remove Assets: - Select Yes to allow the user to remove assets from the collection.
    • Update Assets: Select Yes to allow the user to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the collection.
    • Add Users: Select Yes to allow the user to add users to the collection.
    • Remove Users: Select Yes to allow the user to remove users from the collection.  

      You can't edit a Curator's collection permissions.

      Screenshot of add user screen
  7. Select Add

Edit User Permissions

Curators (Gallery admins) can follow these steps to adjust users' collection permissions. All other users can remove the user and re-add them to adjust their permissions.

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users.
  4. Select one or more users, select Edit.
  5. Select Expiration Date to assign a date for when the user's access expires. Enter a date or use the date picker to select an expiration date.
  6. Select the users' permissions:
    • Admin: Select Yes to set all the permissions to Yes. 
    • Add Assets: Select Yes to allow the user to add assets to the collection.
    • Remove Assets: - Select Yes to allow the user to remove assets from the collection.
    • Update Assets: Select Yes to allow the user to open the asset in Designer, make changes, and save it back to the collection.
    • Add Users: Select Yes to allow the user to add users to the collection.
    • Remove Users: Select Yes to allow the user to remove users from the collection.  

      You can't edit a Curator's collection permissions.

  7.  Select Save.

Remove a User from a Collection

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users.
  4. Find the user you want to remove.
  5. Select the trash icon in the Actions column to remove a user from the Collection.

Set an Expiration Date for a User's Access

  1. Select Collections.
  2. Select the collection.
  3. Select Users.
  4. Select the users and then select Edit
  5. In Expiration Date enter a date or use the date picker to select a date. 
Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.