Replace a Workflow

Version:
Current
Last modified: October 09, 2020

Access to the replace workflow functionality depends on your collection permissions and the settings of the workflow as determined by the workflow owner. 

Use the replace workflow functionality to merge the latest version from one workflow into the version history of another. This allows multiple users to work on a workflow separately and then merge the resulting updates back. Use the replace workflow functionality in conjunction with workflow migration to create a workflow development and quality assurance process. 

When you replace a workflow with another workflow the replacement workflow versions are not preserved. All versions from the original workflow are preserved in the replaced workflow Version History. All results from both workflows are preserved on the Workflow Results page. 

  1. On the workflow details page, select Replace Workflow.
    Screenshot of the replace workflow link on the workflow details page
  2. Select the workflow you want to replace the original workflow with.
  3. Select Replace
    Screenshot of replace workflow screen
  4. Review the warning, and select OK
    Screenshot of replace workflow warning

Your replacement workflow is now the latest version in the original workflow's version history. A "Package Replaced" comment displays in the version history. This version is automatically published.

Screenshot of version history that shows the "package replaced" comment.

On the Workflow Results page of the Gallery, you can still access results from the original workflow. 

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.