Save a Workflow to the Gallery

Version:
Current
Last modified: October 13, 2020

Workflow creators can follow these steps to save Designer workflows to the Gallery to share with other users. 

  1. Select File > Save As > Private Gallery to save a workflow to the Gallery for the first time. Select File > Save > Private Gallery to save edits to a workflow on a Gallery. 
  2. Select the Gallery you want to save to.
  3. If you are not signed in to the Gallery, you are prompted to do so. Based on the Gallery configuration, authentication steps vary:
    • Built-in authentication: Enter your Gallery Email and Password. Select Connect.
    • Windows authentication: A user name displays. Select Continue to sign in.
  4. In the Save Workflow window, customize the Workflow Name as you want to save it in the Gallery.
    1. Location displays the Gallery studio where you are saving the workflow.
    2. (Optional) Select a Worker Tag to determine which worker runs the workflow. 
    3. (Optional) In Details, enter comments. Other users can see these comments in the version history.
    4. (Optional) Select your Workflow Options.
      • Publish this version of the workflow: This option is only available if you have previously saved the workflow to the Gallery. It is checked by default. This publishes the new version of the workflow so it is available to other users in the Gallery. Uncheck this option if you don't want other users to use this version of the workflow. See Publish a Workflow Version to learn how to publish a workflow version in the Gallery interface. 
      • Validate workflow then save: This option is selected by default. Validation checks if there are prohibited tools or commands. If validation fails, the workflow requires an exemption to run in your company's Gallery. Contact your Gallery admin to request that they change the run mode for your workflow. 
      • Manage workflow assets: Select to manage the assets associated with the workflow. Uncheck an asset to omit it from the workflow package. 
        • Group assets by tool: Select Group assets by tool to display all the assets grouped with the tool they are connected to.
      • Enable workflow locking: Select to view locking options for the workflow.
        • Restrict use to specific serial numbers: When selected, only the serial numbers (email addresses) in the list can use the locked workflow. Enter each unique serial number (email address) one per line.
        • Set expiration for locked workflow: When selected, users can no longer run or access the workflow on the selected date.
        • Check the box to acknowledge the implications of locking your workflow.
        • Select Done to lock your workflow.
      • Set workflow credentials: Select the credentials for running the workflow. Note, a Curator (Gallery admin) has to enable this option. See Credentials.
        • User is not required to specify credentials: Run the workflow using the default Server or studio credentials.
        • User must specify their own credentials: Prompt a user to enter their credentials to run the workflow.
        • Always run this workflow with these credentials: Enter the credentials to use each time a Gallery user runs the workflow. These credentials
  5. Select Save.
Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.