Schedules: User Interface

Version:
Current
Last modified: March 27, 2020

Schedules allow users to schedule workflows to run on a specified date and time or a recurring basis. This article covers the options available to users on the Schedules page in the Gallery user interface. To learn more about Schedule options for Curators (Gallery Admins) within the Gallery Admin interface, see the Jobs (Schedules): Admin Interface article.   

A Curator (Gallery Admin) must enable the user permission to schedule jobs before you can begin scheduling workflows to run. Curators can learn how to enable scheduled workflows for users in the Schedules: Admin Interface article. Once the Schedule Jobs user permission is enabled for your user, the link to the Schedules page will appear on your Gallery toolbar.

When the Schedule Jobs user permission is enabled , Schedules appears on your toolbar.

On the Schedules page, you can view the details about your scheduled workflows. You can also edit or delete schedules from the Schedules page. If your admin has enabled shared schedules, you can see schedules created by other users, and the workflow results of shared jobs.

Schedule a Workflow

  1. In Gallery, find the workflow you want to schedule and select it to view details.
  2. Select Schedules.
  3. (Optional) In Schedule Name, type a name for the schedule.
  4. Select schedule occurrence: Once, Recurring, or Custom. Complete the scheduling details that appear after you select an occurrence.
    • Once: Select a specific date and time to run the workflow.
      Run the workflow once at the selected date and time.
    • Recurring: Select an hourly, daily, weekly, or monthly frequency.
       Select a daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly re-occurrence.
    • Custom: Choose the days of the month and the months of the year you wish to schedule the workflow to run and specify a start and end date. 
      Choose the days of the month and the months of the year you wish to schedule the workflow to run and specify a start and end date. 
  5. In Priority, select Low, Medium, High, or Critical to prioritize the workflow job. When there are multiple jobs in the queue, the job with the highest priority will run first. If you are not seeing this option you do not have permission to prioritize runs.
  6. In Assigned Worker, select an option to assign a specific worker to run the workflow. If you are not seeing this option you do not have permission to assign jobs.
  7. (Optional) Enter notes about the schedule comments in the Comments field.
  8. (Optional) If the workflow must be run as a specific user to access data, select Edit Credentials.
    1. In Schedule as, type or select workflow credentials from the drop-down.
    2. Enter the password in the box, if necessary.
  9. Select Done.

Edit a Schedule

  1. Select Schedules.
  2. Find the schedule you want to edit.
  3. Select the pencil icon.
  4. In the Edit Schedule window, edit schedule details. All schedule details are editable.
  5. If the workflow requires credentials, ensure credentials are present.
  6. Select Done.
    In the Edit Schedule window, edit schedule details. All schedule details are editable.

Disable or Re-Enable a Schedule

To disable a schedule:

  1. Select Schedules.
  2. Find the schedule you want to edit.
  3. Select the pencil icon.
  4. In the Edit Schedule window, deselect Enable this schedule.
  5. Select Done.

In the Edit Schedule window, deselect Enable this schedule.

Disabled schedules remain in the Schedules list.

Disabled schedules remain in the Schedules list.

Schedules can also be disabled by a Curator (Gallery Admin) or they can be disabled by the system itself because of changes to the scheduled workflow or credential requirements. A note that explains the reason the schedule was disabled will also be added in these scenarios. To learn why a schedule is disabled, edit the schedule on the Schedules page.

To re-enable a disabled schedule, edit the schedule and select Enable this schedule.

Delete a Schedule

To delete a schedule:

  1. Find the schedule you want to delete on the Schedules page.
  2. Select the trash icon.

Share Schedules

In order for users to share schedules, the following is required:

  1. The users must be on the same subscription.
  2. The Curator (Gallery Admin) must enable the option to share schedules on the Subscription.

Curators can learn how to enable shared schedules on a subscription in the Schedules: Admin Interface article.

Once shared schedules are set up, all users' schedules will be visible on the Schedules page. The Owner column will display the user that created the schedule. You can edit, disable, and delete shared schedules as you would your own schedules. 

Once shared schedules are set up, you'll be able to see all users' schedules on the Schedules page. The Owner column will display the user that created the schedule.

Time Zone Support

All Schedule frequencies have an option to select the time zone for which it is run. If your schedule is set for a time zone that observes daylight saving time, the schedule will adjust accordingly.

All Schedule frequencies have an option to select the time zone for which it is run. 

Schedules display on the Schedules page in your user-preferred time zone, regardless of the scheduled time zone.

Set your preferred time zone in User Settings > Profile > About me.

When you return to the Schedules page after changing your preferred time zone, the schedules will show in your new time zone. Changing your time zone will not affect when they run.

An alert displays next to jobs that do not have an associated time zone. These schedules were created prior to version 2019.3 or were migrated from Desktop Automation. Select Update to update to your current time zone or Dismiss to leave as originally scheduled. 

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.