Workflows: Admin Interface

Version:
Current
Last modified: October 12, 2020

Workflow creators can publish Designer workflows to the Gallery to share with other users. This article covers the options available to Curators (Gallery admins) on the Workflows page of the Gallery Admin interface. To learn more about workflow options for Gallery users within the Gallery interface, visit the Workflows: Gallery Interface article.

On the Workflows page, add workflows to the Gallery and manage their settings. You can also add apps and macros to the Gallery via the Workflows page. Only workflows and apps can be in the Gallery. Curators can also create and apply tags to workflows to improve search results and group similar workflows into districts. See Districts.

Screenshot of Workflows page from the Admin interface

 

Access Gallery Admin Interface

Access the Gallery Admin interface directly via this URL: [BaseAddress]/gallery/admin

You can also access the Gallery Admin interface via Gallery. To do so, select your username and select Admin.
Select your username and select Admin to access the Gallery Admin interface.

To manage workflows, select Workflows on the Admin toolbar.

Screenshot of Admin toolbar with Workflows highlighted

 

Add a Workflow

  1. Begin by saving your workflows as an Alteryx workflow package (YXZP) file to upload to the Gallery.
  2. On the Workflows page, select Add New Workflow.
  3. Select the workflow on your computer or a shared location.

The workflow displays in your list on the Workflow page. Apps and macros can also be upload using these steps.

Create Workflow Tags

Assign tags to workflows to assist with workflow organization. Only Curators (Gallery Admins) can assign tags flagged as Admin Only to workflows.

  1. To create a new tag, go to the Workflows page, scroll to the Tags section.
  2. Enter a tag in the Tag field and click Add New.
  3. Select Admin Only to make the tag only available to Curators (Gallery Admins) to assign to workflows.

Select Admin Only if you want the tag to only be available to Curators (Gallery Admins) to assign to workflows.

Workflow Options

On the Workflows page, select a workflow. Make changes to the following workflow settings. Select Save when you finish making changes.

  • Tags: To add a new tag, select Add Tags, and select the tags you want to apply. To remove a tag, select the X icon on the tag you want to remove.
  • Icon: To change the workflow icon, select Change Icon, and browse for a new icon.
  • Description: Enter a description for the workflow in the Description field.
  • Run Mode: Use Run Mode to block specific tools or access. The Server admin selects the Default Run Mode during server configuration. See Gallery. To change the Run Mode for the workflow, select a setting from the drop-down.
    • Unrestricted: Gallery users can run the workflow regardless of tools or access.
    • Semi-safe: Blocks Gallery users from running the workflow if it reads data from or writes data to a location that is not within the directory or sub-directory of the workflow staging directory (workspace).
    • Safe: Blocks Gallery users from running the workflow if it reads data from or writes data to a location that is not within the workflow staging directory (workspace). Gallery users are also blocked from running the workflow if it uses specific tools, events, and data connectors. See

      Safe and Semi-safe Run Modes: Blocked Tools, Events, and Data Connectors.

      Semi-safe and Safe are only available if the Server admin has enabled the Run As setting in System Settings on the Worker > Run As screen or if a Run As user is specified. See Worker and Credentials for more information.

  • Worker Assignment: To change the worker that runs the workflow, select a worker from the drop-down. If a worker is not assigned, the worker assigned to the studio runs the workflow.
  • Requires Private Data Setting: Indicates the workflow needs licensed data to run. Select Yes, if the workflow needs licensed data, or No if the workflow does not need licensed data.
  • Private Data Exemption Setting: Give an exemption to allow a workflow with private data to run. Select Yes, to allow an exemption or No to deny an exemption.
  • Place in My Company's Gallery: Select Yes, to share the workflow in your company's Gallery, or No, to remove the workflow from your company's Gallery. Removing the workflow from your company's Gallery does not remove the workflow from the user's studio.
  • Ready for Migration Setting: This option is only available when the Curators Can Flag Workflows for Promotion setting is enabled on the Configuration page. Select Yes to mark workflows and apps for migration. You can then use a Gallery API endpoint to move workflows from one environment into the appropriate subscription (studio) of another environment. See the Migratable Endpoint documentation.

On the Workflows page, select a Workflow. Make your changes to the following Workflow settings. Be sure to click Save when you are finished making changes. 

Enable Users to Run Workflows

By default, only users signed in to the Gallery can run workflows. To change this setting to enable users to run workflows on the homepage without logging in, enable the Unregistered Users Can Run Public Workflows on the Homepage setting on the Configuration page in the admin interface.

Screenshot of Unregistered Users Can Run Public Workflows on the Homepage setting on Configuration page in Admin interface

 

For Galleries using Integrated Windows Authentication, Unregistered Users Can Run Public Workflows on the Homepage is disabled and cannot be changed because anonymous access is not an option for Windows Authentication systems.

Enable Workflows for Migration

You can manage workflow deployments during development and testing phases by migrating workflows from one Server environment to another using a series of endpoints.

Mark workflows for migration in 2 places.

  1. Enable Curators to flag workflows for migration:
    • On the Configuration page of the Admin interface, enable the Curators Can Flag Workflows for Promotion setting.
  2. Mark a specific workflow for migration:
    • On the Workflows page of the Gallery Admin interface, select a workflow, and select Yes for This workflow is ready to be migrated.
      On the Workflows page of the Gallery Admin interface, select a Workflow, and select Yes for This workflow is ready to be migrated.

Once you mark workflows for migration, you can then use a series of API endpoints to publish them from the source environment into the appropriate subscription (studio) of the target environment. See the Migratable Endpoint documentation.

Was This Helpful?

Running into problems or issues with your Alteryx product? Visit the Alteryx Community or contact support.