Skip to main content

DCM in Designer, Server, and Alteryx One

At its core, DCM provides a centralized way to create, manage, and share data connections and credentials for workflow execution. While the core DCM concepts remain the same, the capabilities differ across Desktop, Server (on-prem), and Alteryx One.

Feature

Designer (Desktop)

Server (On Prem)

Alteryx One

Primary purpose

Manage personal connections for local workflow development

Centrally manage connections for Server users and scheduled workflows

Centrally manage connections for workspace execution

Core objects

Data Sources, Credentials, and Connections

Same model as Desktop, managed centrally

Connections and Credentials

Connection, Data Source, Credential management

User-managed

User-managed with centralized sharing through Permissions

User-managed with centralized sharing through Roles

Connection storage

Local machine

Managed by Server environment

Managed centrally in Alteryx One

Connection sharing

Only via Server or Alteryx One. Users primarily manage their own connections

Permission-based. Users with Share permission

Role-based. Authors and Editors can create and share connections across users and workspaces

Workflow execution

Local Desktop execution

Server execution

Workspace Execution in Alteryx One

Administration

Individual users manage connections

Users manage their connection. Admins and users with Permission manage shared connections

Users manage their connection. Admins and users with Roles manage shared connections

Synchronization

Syncs to/from Server via No Sync, One-way to Designer, or Full Synchronization

Acts as the sync hub Designer connects to

New direct sync path: Designer ↔ Alteryx One

Moving Connections into DCM

To move legacy connections to DCM, use Migration Tool

To move legacy connections to DCM, use Migration Tool

Previously synchronized Workspace Execution connections are not migrated to DCM. Post upgrade, re-synchronize your Desktop connections to use them Alteryx One