Skip to main content

Roles and Permissions

Roles and permissions determine who can view, use, modify, and share DCM connections. They give organizations control over the entire connection lifecycle, including who can create, manage, and distribute connections across the organization. This flexibility enables organizations to adopt the operating model that best fits their needs, whether connections are managed centrally, owned by designated teams, or created and managed independently by individual users.

DCM uses different access control models depending on the platform. Although both models determine who can access and manage connections, they grant permissions differently.

Alteryx Server

Alteryx One

Access Model

Permission-based

Role-based

How access is granted

Individual permissions are assigned for each action.

A predefined role grants a fixed set of permissions.

Level of control

Granular control over specific actions, such as Read, Edit, Delete, and Share.

Simplified management through roles, such as Author, Editor, and Viewer.

 

Although both models control access to DCM connections, they are optimized for different environments. Server provides granular, permission-based access for precise administrative control, whereas Alteryx One uses predefined roles to simplify permission management and collaboration across workspaces.

Permissions on Server

Alteryx Server uses a permission-based access model, where each permission is granted independently. Administrators control access by selecting the specific actions that you can perform on a connection.

A user or group can be granted any combination of:

  • Create: Create a new connection by linking a data source to a credential.

  • Read: View the connection details, including the associated data source and credential information.

  • Update: Modify the connection settings or update the associated credentials.

  • Delete: Permanently remove the connection.

  • Share: Grant other users or groups access to the connection.

Because permissions are assigned individually, administrators can create custom access levels by combining them as needed. For example:

  • Full Permission: Create, Read, Update, Delete, and Share.

  • Read + Share, no Update/Delete: You can view and share a connection with others, but cannot modify or remove it.

  • Read only: You can see and use the connection but has no ability to change, delete, or share it.

This permission-based model enables administrators to customize access for each user or group. However, it requires more configuration than the role-based model used in Alteryx One.

Roles in Alteryx One

Alteryx One simplifies access management by replacing the granular permission model with four predefined roles. Each role includes a fixed set of permissions.

Role

What it Allows

Author

Create, edit, delete, share, and run connections

Editor

View, edit, and run connections

Viewer

View and run connections

None

No access to the connection

Administrators assign predefined roles that provide the appropriate level of access. This simplifies access management while reducing the administrative effort required to configure permissions for each user.

Note

In Designer, you create and manage your own DCM connections. When a connection is synchronized with Alteryx One, access to that connection is controlled by the roles assigned in Alteryx One.

To know more about collaborating on connections, see Share and Collaborate on Connections.