Skip to main content

Share Assets

Important

An admin must enable sharing for various asset types in Workspace Settings in the Admin Console.

Additionally, your ability to share assets depends on your user role and permissions. Contact your account administrator for details.

You can share an asset with 1 or more users in your workspace. Invited users receive an email notification and an in-app notification, depending on workspace notification settings and their personal notification preferences. Note that asset sharing includes any related schedules for that asset.

Share Assets

Important

Some asset types use different sharing behavior.

At this time, for Auto Insights Missions and Reports, Viewer, Contributor, and Editor access all include the Share permission. This means recipients can re-share the Mission or Report regardless of the selected access level.

Follow these steps to share an asset:

  1. In Alteryx One, access the asset Library via the left navigation panel.

  2. Locate the asset you want to share, open its context (3-dot) menu, and select Share. Alternatively, if available, you can select View Asset Details to open the asset's details page. Then select Share on the details page.

  3. Use the Select Users or Groups dropdown to select or search for the users you want to share the asset with.

  4. Select the available privilege level for the receiving user:

    • Viewer: User can read and run the asset.

    • Contributor: User can read, update, and run the asset.

    • Editor: User can read, update, share, and run the asset.

  5. If the workflow has dependencies (for example, Connections or Datasets), a notification appears. Select View in the Share dialog to choose to share or not share these dependencies. Check Share All Dependencies to include them, or uncheck to omit them. Once you have selected the dependencies, select Back to return to the Share dialog.

    For more information, refer to Share Dependencies below.

  6. Select Share to finish or Close to abandon the process.

Users are notified via Alteryx One and email that an asset has been shared with them.

Share Dependencies

If the Designer, Designer Cloud, or Live Query workflow has dependencies (for example, Connections or Datasets), select View in the Share dialog to choose to share or not share these dependencies.

  • When you share a workflow with a Connection, included members have View access to that Connection. Note that included members must enter their Connection credentials to access shared dependencies that come from a Connection.

  • When you share a workflow with a Dataset, included members have the same permissions as the workflow.

Note

Dependencies retain separate permissions. Recipients should review the Dependencies tab after an asset is shared and select Request Access to dependencies they don't have access to, if needed.

Remove Access to Shared Asset

Follow these steps to remove access to a shared asset:

  1. In Alteryx One, access the asset Library via the left navigation panel.

  2. Locate the asset you want to share, open its context (3-dot) menu, and select Share. Alternatively, if available, you can select View Asset Details to open to the asset's detail page. Then select Share on the details page.

  3. Locate the user or group whose access you want to remove.

  4. Open their permissions dropdown and select Remove. Confirm the action to remove access to the asset.