Synchronize DCM Connections
Synchronization keeps DCM connections consistent between Designer and Alteryx One. When synchronization is enabled, changes made to a connection in one environment can be reflected in the other based on the configured synchronization mode.
It eliminates the need to recreate DCM connections across environments and helps ensure users work with the same centrally managed connections.
What Is Synchronized?
Synchronization applies to DCM-managed connections and their associated data source and credential. Depending on the synchronization mode, the following information is synchronized:
Connections.
Credential updates, such as renewed authentication tokens or updated passwords.
Changes to existing connections, including edits and deletions.
Adding, editing, or deleting a connection or credential in one environment will sync that change to the other environment, based on your configured sync settings.
Synchronize Designer with Alteryx One
You can sync Designer with Alteryx One using Alteryx Links. The Alteryx Link is a single, global connection between Designer and an Alteryx One workspace.
In Designer, go to File > Manage Connections > Alteryx Links.
Select the Connect to Alteryx One button at the top-right of the page.
In the dialog box that pops up, select the cloud Instance where you want to connect (United States, Europe, Australia, or Custom Instance).
Sign in to your Alteryx One Platform and select the workspace you want to connect to.
Once you have successfully signed in, the browser and Designer display a success message. You can then close the browser and Designer windows.
Connections are securely authenticated via the browser and automatically saved in DCM with labels for easy identification.
To know more about creating, managing, and overriding Alteryx links, see Alteryx Links.
Limitations
Only DCM-managed connections can be synchronized. Legacy (non-DCM) connections must be migrated to DCM before they can be synchronized.
To know more about migrating connections, see Migration Tool.
DCM connections that were previously synchronized to Workspace Execution are not migrated to DCM on Alteryx One. After switching to DCM on Alteryx One, re-synchronize those connections using an Alteryx Link to make them available in Alteryx One.
Synchronize Designer with Server
To synchronize DCM connections between Designer and Alteryx Server, use the Synchronize option in Data Connection Manager (DCM). This establishes synchronization directly with the Server instance, allowing DCM-managed connections to remain consistent between Designer and Server.
Synchronization Modes
Choose a synchronization mode based on how your organization manages connections.
Mode | Description |
|---|---|
No Synchronization | Connections remain independent in Designer, Server, and Alteryx One. Changes are not synchronized in any direction. |
One-way to Designer | Connections are synchronized from Server/ Alteryx One to Designer only. Changes made in Designer are not synchronized back to Server/ Alteryx One. |
Full Synchronization | Connections are synchronized in both directions: Changes made in either Designer or Alteryx One are reflected in the other environment.
|
To synchronize between Designer and Server:
In Designer, go to File > Manage Connections > Synchronize.
For a new connection, select + New. Enter your Server URL and select Connect.
Enter the Email and Password and select Sign In.
Select Synchronize and then select Done.
To know more about synchronizing Designer with Server, see Synchronize.