Skip to main content

DCM - Designer

Data Connection Manager (DCM) is a centralized storage for Database and Cloud interoperable connections (credentials linked to data sources) that facilitates workflow connection management and collaboration across Alteryx products. Use DCM to enter and use your connections and credentials among tools and workflows.

With DCM, you can manage data sources, credentials, and connections:

  • Data source objects represent databases, cloud services, and more.

  • Credential objects represent username and password combinations and OAuth tokens.

  • Connection objects join data sources to credentials and are used by one or many tools in your workflow.

Go to Supported Connectors and Tools for more information.

Data Connection Manager Configuration

Admin Settings

There is an option to change the DCM Mode and choose the SDK Access Mode.

These options are available via DCM Mode to set the credential handling and storage:

  • DCM Optional: Connections (including passwords) are stored in a workflow by default. You can choose to store and manage connections in DCM.

  • DCM as Default : Connections (including passwords) are stored and managed in DCM by default. You can choose to store them in a workflow.

  • DCM Only: You can't configure connections in a workflow. You can only select connections stored in DCM. Workflows with embedded passwords can run.

  • DCM Enforced: Workflows with embedded passwords don't work.

For SDK (Gallery) Tools support, these are the administrative options:

  • Deny: SDK Tools are not supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is not displayed in the credential UI.

  • Allow: SDK tools are supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is displayed in the UI with the option for manual selection of each credential.

  • AllowAll: SDK tools are supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is not displayed in the credential UI.

User Settings

As a user, you can change the DCM Mode and choose the SDK Access Mode in Options > User Settings > Edit User Settings > DCM.

These options are available via DCM Mode to set credential handling and storage:

  • DCM Optional: Connections (including passwords) are stored in a workflow by default. You can choose to store and manage connections in DCM.

  • DCM as Default : Connections (including passwords) are stored and managed in DCM by default. You can choose to store them in a workflow.

  • DCM Only: You can't configure connections in a workflow. You can only select connections stored in DCM. Workflows with embedded passwords can run.

  • DCM Enforced: Workflows with embedded passwords don't work.

For the SDK Access Mode, these are the available options:

  • Deny: SDK Tools are not supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is not displayed in the credential UI.

  • Allow: SDK tools are supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is displayed in the UI with the option for manual selection of each credential.

  • AllowAll: SDK tools are supported, and the Allow Credential for SDK tools check box is not displayed in the credential UI.

Connection Manager

You can control the Data Sources and Credentials that authenticate the Data Sources in the Connection Manager. Additionally, you can link Designer Desktop to the Alteryx Analytics Cloud Platform (AACP). Go to FileManage Connections to access these features.

Manage Data Sources

To add a Data Source in Connection Manager...

  1. Go to Data Sources.

  2. Select + New.

  3. Choose the Technology.

  4. Enter the information needed for the technology you want to connect. Optionally you can Test Connection.

  5. Select Save.

You can combine the Data Source with the Credential to create a Connection. In the Data Sources > Connections section, you can see the list of linked credentials for the Connection or link a new credential:

  1. Select + Connect Credential.

  2. Choose an Authentication Method.

  3. Enter the credential information.

  4. Optionally you can choose to Allow connection for SDK.

  5. You can select Test Connection or select Create and Link to finish.

Manage Credentials

To add a Credential in the Connection Manager, go to the Credentials section. You have these options available:

  • Add Credentials: Select +New. Enter the Credential Name. Select a Method. Enter the required info (for example, Client ID, Secret Key, Username, and Password) for the selected method. Select Save.

  • View Credentials: Select the credential you want to view from the list.

  • Edit Credential: To edit a credential in Connection Manager, select the credential you want to edit from the list. Select Edit. Select Save.

  • Delete Credential: Select the credential you want to delete in Connection Manager. Select the trash can icon. Select Delete.

To connect with your Connection, place the tool on the Designer workflow canvas and select Set up a Connection. In the Connection Manager window, choose your Connection and use linked credentials by selecting the Connect button.

Manage Alteryx Links

Alteryx Links allow you to link Designer Desktop with an Alteryx Analytics Cloud Platform (AACP) workspace so that you can save and execute Desktop-built workflows in the cloud. Learn more about these capabilities at Cloud Execution for Desktop.

Sync Credentials

With DCM, you can sync credentials across the Alteryx product suite.

Sync Credentials Between Designer and Server

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Select Synchronize.

  3. For a new Server connection...

    1. Select + New.

    2. Enter the Serverinstance URL and select Connect.

    3. Enter the Email and Password and select Sign In.

  4. Select the Server instance to sync with.

  5. Select Synchronize.

  6. Select Done.

Add Credentials with Sync

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Go to Credentials.

  3. Select Add Credential.

  4. Enter credential details.

  5. Select Save.

  6. Perform steps 2 to 5 from the Sync Credentials Between Designer and Server section.

Edit Credentials with Sync

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Go to Credentials.

  3. Select the credential to update.

  4. Select Edit.

  5. Update credential details.

  6. Select Save.

  7. Perform steps 2 to 5 from the Sync Credentials Between Designer and Server section.

Delete Credentials with Sync

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Go to Credentials.

  3. Select the credential you want to delete.

  4. Select the trash can icon.

  5. Select Delete to confirm.

  6. Perform steps 2 to 5 from the Sync Credentials Between Designer and Server section.

Sync Workflow with DCM Credentials

  1. Perform workflow upload or download as per the Workflows article.

  2. Perform steps 2 to 5 from the Sync Credentials Between Designer and Server section.

Backup and Restore

You can back up your DCM storage and restore it from the backup file.

Important

This feature is based on your Designer license. Although restore works between two different licenses purchased within the same organization, in that case, backup and restore under two different licenses within the same organization must be also in the different instances of Designer for it to work. Backup and restore do not work in a trial version or with multiple active licenses in a single instance of Designer.

Backup

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Select Back up.

  3. Enter your backup file password.

  4. Select the Backup.

  5. Choose a location and optionally a name for your backup file.

  6. Select Save.

Restore

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager.

  2. Select Restore.

  3. Enter your backup file password.

  4. Select the Restore.

Synchronize DCM between Server and Designer

There are three synchronization settings available:

  • No Synchronization - DCM Connections synchronization is blocked both ways.

  • One-way to Designer - DCM Connections synchronization is only enabled from Server to Designer.

  • Full Synchronization - DCM Connections synchronization is enabled from Server to Designer and Designer to Server.

To synchronize DCM between Server and Designer, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Designer > File > Manage Connections to open Connection Manager. Then select Synchronize in the menu.

  2. Select the Server you want to synchronize from the list.

  3. Select Synchronize.

After you have synchronized DCM between Server and Designer, any credentials you own and all data sources you have access to are visible and ready for use in Connection Manager.

Supported Connectors and Tools

For the list of the tools and Connectors supported by DCM, go to DCM Supported Connectors and Tools.