Skip to main content

Create and Manage Connections

A Connection links a Data Source (what you're connecting to, such as a database or cloud service) with a Credential (what you use to authenticate, such as a username/ password or a token).

You create a Connection in DCM once, and any workflow can reuse it to authenticate.

Note

If a connection is synced between Designer and Alteryx One, changes made in one environment are reflected in the other, depending on your sync settings. For more information, see Synchronize DCM Connections.Synchronize DCM Connections

In Designer

Create a Connection

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections. Alternatively, place the Input/ Output tool on the canvas and select Connect to Data.

  2. Create the Data Source:

    • Go to Data Sources > + New.

    • Choose the technology and enter the required details.

    • Select Save.

  3. Add a Credential:

    • Go to Credentials > + New.

    • Choose the technology and enter the required details.

    • Select Save.

  4. Select Test Connection, then Create and Link to finish forming the Connection.

  5. To use it in a workflow, place the relevant tool on the canvas, select Set up a Connection, choose your Connection, and select Connect.

Edit Connection

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections.

  2. Under Connections, Data Sources, or Credentials, select the item you want to change.

  3. Select Edit, make your changes, and select Save.

Editing a Data Source or Credential updates it everywhere it has been used. You do not need to recreate the connection.

Delete Connection

  1. Go to File > Manage Connections.

  2. Under Connections, Data Sources, or Credentials, select the item you want to delete.

  3. Select the trash can icon and then select Delete.

In Alteryx One

Create a Connection

  1. In the Alteryx One home page, select Data.

  2. Select + New Connection.

  3. Choose the connection type and enter the required details.

  4. Save the connection. It is now available centrally for anyone you choose to share it with.

If you plan to use this connection with Desktop-built workflows, make sure your Designer instance is linked to this workspace via Alteryx Links and synced, so the connection is available on both sides. To know more, see Alteryx Links.

Edit Connection

  1. Go to Data from the Home page and open the connection you want to change.

  2. Select Edit, update the connection or credential details, and save your changes.

Anyone with an Editor role or above Roles and Permissions in DCM can make changes. Anyone with Viewer access can use the connection, but cannot edit it. To know more about the roles, see Roles and Permissions.

Delete Connection

  1. Go to Data from the Home page and open the connection you want to delete.

  2. Select Delete and confirm.

Deleting a connection also removes all associated sharing. Any users the connection was shared with will lose access.

To know more about sharing connections, see Share and Collaborate on Connections.

To know more about setting up external vaults, see External Vaults.