Skip to main content

DCM - Server

Data Connection Manager (DCM) is a centralized storage for Database and Cloud interoperable connections (credentials linked to data sources) that facilitates workflow connection management and collaboration across Alteryx products. Use DCM to enter and use your connections and credentials among tools and workflows.

With DCM you can manage data sources, credentials, and connections:

  • Data source objects represent databases, cloud services, and more.

  • Credential objects represent username and password combinations, OAuth tokens.

  • Connection objects join data sources to credentials and are used by one or many tools in your workflows.

Important

If you migrate a workflow that uses a DCM Credential to another Server (such as, from Dev to Prod environment), the workflow continues to use this DCM Credential. The workflow owner must sync their DCM credentials to the destination Server to ensure the DCM Credential is available for the workflow. Failure to do so results in a "Selected Connection is not available." error.

Go to the DCM help page for Designer for more info.

Data Connection Manager Configuration

As an administrator, configure the DCM settings on the component in the DCM screens in System Settings.

Important

In Server-FIPS, DCM is enabled and can't be disabled. Also, the DCM Enforced mode is enabled and can't be changed in the FIPS-capable version of Server.

Starting with the 2023.2 release, Data Connection Manager is always enabled, allowing users to use the Connection Manager within Designer under File > Manage Connections. Go to the DCM help page for more info.

DCM Mode

Select an option for default credential handling and storage.

  • DCM Optional: Connections (including passwords) are stored in a workflow by default. You can choose to store and manage connections in DCM.

  • DCM as Default: Connections (including passwords) are stored and managed in DCM by default. You can choose to store them in a workflow. 

  • DCM Only: You can't configure connections in a workflow. You can only select connections stored in DCM. Workflows with embedded passwords will run. 

  • DCM Enforced: Workflows with embedded passwords will not work.

SDK (Gallery) Tools Support

If you change the SDK Tools Support settings, restart Server to apply the change.

  • Deny:SDK Tools are not supported, the Allow Credential for SDK (Server) tools check box is not available in the credential UI.

  • Allow: SDK tools supported, the Allow Credential for SDK (Server) tools check box is available in the UI with manual selection of each credential.

  • Allow All: SDK tools supported, the Allow Credential for SDK (Server) tools check box is available in the UI and is checked by default for all credentials.

Allow Override by User

Check the Allow Override by User check box to allow users to override these organization-level settings. When checked, users can override any of the above settings under Options > User Settings > Edit User Settings > DCM. Uncheck Allow Override by User to enforce organization-level settings for all users.

Server Synchronization

Admins can choose to disable DCM connections syncing between Server and Designer, and from Designer to Server. When you enable this feature, it disables syncing of DCM connections for the entire environment.

Use this feature to ensure that users don't use DCM connections in production environments connected to production data sets to create new workflows in Designer. With this feature, you can restrict access to DCM connections for data sets in production environments, and leave users with the flexibility to use DCM connections between Server and Designer in development or test environments.

Use the One-way to Designer option to ensure that only connections created directly on the Server are stored and executable in the environment, allowing updates to those connections to be synchronized to Designer users while preventing user connections from being synchronized to the Server.

To choose the DCM connection synchronization type for the entire environment:

  1. Go to System Settings > DCM.

  2. Select the type of Server Synchronization from the dropdown. There are 3 synchronization settings available:

    • No Synchronization: DCM Connections synchronization is blocked both ways.

    • One-way to Designer: DCM Connections synchronization is only enabled from Server to Designer.

    • Full Synchronization: DCM Connections synchronization is enabled from Server to Designer, and Designer to Server.

Note

Any old connections already synced from Server to Designer remain synced. Once you change this setting, synchronization is prevented only for newly added, updated, and removed connections. After you uncheck this setting again, synchronization resumes, and old connections that were not previously synced will be synced.

The same settings are applied to DCM Credentials and DCM Vaults. For more information about DCM, go to Data Connection Manager: Server UI.

What's Next?

Go to Administer Alteryx Server.